“To live is to choose. But to choose well, you must know who you are and what you stand for, where you want to go and why you want to get there.” Kofi Annan.

I’m sitting on the train back from NYC to my new home in up-state New York. I’ve got an earworm that’s been racing through my head the whole weekend – “Hey Now” by Prime Circle. I think it means something, but what? I’m a Prime Circle fan, but why can’t I get more interesting earworms like “You can call me Al” by Paul Simon. Who doesnt love Chev

Earworm’s seem to be soundtracks that play when my katabatic mental arse gravy starts flowing. Practice, home, friends, family, girls, surfing, sailing, ASU, pets, new car, lottery numbers, emails, cancer, medication, finances, vacation, Chuck, Defying Gravity, et al. But despite all this rolling through my head, I feel strangely quite at ease. I think Worry has given up on me. It’s like I’m on organic prozac or something – maybe this new found diet of mine is actually good for something.

So why am I on a train? Well I spent the weekend in NYC with a friend and today we went to the Packers-Jets game. It was my first live NFL game, and my first time watching the Pack play! Although the game sucked (the Pack won 9-0) but the experience was awesome. Lambeau Field here I come! To be honest there are 2 other events I would’ve liked to also have been at this weekend – the ASU men’s water polo team against UofA, and the Currie Cup rugby final between Western Province and the Sharks. (WP jou lekker ding!)

Tomorrow is the start of Movember. 2 years ago I grew a stache just for fun. Now that it actually means something to me, I think im going to grow one for the entire month. In the words of Richard Hammond – I’m going to “Go Ugly Early”.


If you’ve got to see it to believe it, than certainty must be blind.

