NB-This blog comes with a soundtrack – “Start a War” by the National. Do not read unless said background music is playing. (blogs with soundtracks will be the next best thing, watch this space)

On Tuesday I was (finally) meant to get my visa. Unfortunately I hit a(nother) slight irritating snag, so I’m still waiting for the world to change it’s mind while I try collect some more documentation – one specific and rather random email/letter in particular… What really frustrates me and slows down the whole process is the stupid 6-9 hr time difference I have to deal with. Time zones are quite ridiculous things to hate, but if the world was flat I could solve my problems quite quickly. If you’re not willing to risk the unusual you will have to settle for the ordinary.

So once again I begin another time-wasting battle with bureaucracy. Bureaucracy always makes my arse clench up like a rabbits nose. But what can you do? Stick it out, and eventually see the light at the end of the tunnel. Have you ever noticed that whenever you’re in a rush everything takes so damn long, and whenever nothing is important everything happens right there and then. Remember that universal law – “the real trick in life is to want nothing, and to succeed in getting it.” Innocence like this is as valuable as it is vulnerable.

I’ve got this theory that good-or-bad things always happen in 3s. The lack of visa was #1, the speeding ticket on the way home was #2.

Anyway yesterday I was still waiting for my document, but there was nothing I could do. Theres nothing worse than boredom when you’re anxious and frustrated about something. There was nothing on TV. I couldn’t go sailing and the wind was also pumping pretty hard so that ruled out surfing. But my industrious mind connived it was perfect windsurfing weather.

So I got my quiver of equipment out the garage and went down to the beach to do some windsurfing. The first 30 minutes were pretty agitating as I battled to get used to the wind and my rig. My cousin used my board last, so everything felt a little out of place. I assume I looked like an epileptic contusion artist. But I eventually got used to it and after a while I went on quite a few long fast breeches. As my confidence built up, I went on longer and longer runs. And then fortune vomited in my face (again).

#3 – I was quite far out and just about to turnaround and tack & jibe back in when I felt my skeg fall out and sink to Davy Jones’ locker.

For novice, ill or fat recreational windsurfers like me, the skeg is the only thing that keeps us on the board. I got a lump in the throat and a little wobble in the old chin. Did I mention that the wind was pumping? Nothing like tacking & jibing up-wind without a skeg. Talk about being up a creek without a paddle. Jusses ek se… tsk tsk!

It took me probably an hour or more to get back to shore. I lost my balance many times and fell in, and drifted almost all the way back to my starting point every time. But nobody embodies stubbornness, doggedness or fortitude more than me. There are many times in life where you get stuck (in any type of problem) where everything will work out best if you just let go and go with the flow. I could’ve “just let go” and waited for the NSRI to come “rescue” me. But I’m one stubborn dogged S.O.B. and there was no way I was gonna do that. “Risk more than others think is safe. Care more than others think is wise. Dream more than others think is practical. Expect more than others think is possible.”

I believe the trick in life is to decide when its time to just let go, or when its time to fight. We probably don’t realize it but we spend our whole lives making that decision.

#4 Bring on SAA.

